Moana (2016)

The movie official website is here.

If you are getting tired of skinny and almost impossible stick figure of Disney princess, then this movie is for you. Moana (Auli’I Cravalho) is a Polynesian girl, daughter of Chief Tui (Temuera Morrison) and his wife Sina (Nicole Scherzinger). Since childhood, Moana has a bound with nature, and mostly the ocean. Unfortunately her father told her to stay away from the ocean since he has childhood fear that the ocean ever killed his bestfriend. Called by her intuition and her grandmother Tala’s last words to return the heart of Te Fiti (mother of islands, somehow being another name for Mother Nature), Moana sails over the ocean to find Maui (Dwayne Johnson) and return Te Fiti’s heart to save her homeland. She, alongside her dimwitted chicken Heihei (voiced by Alan Tudyk), encounters Maui, a Hercules wannabe demigod who has his tattoo of his mini himself as conscience. Maui firstly refused to help Moana returns the heart of Te Fiti, but after Moana helps him to defeat Kakamora (a horde of evil coconut pirate) and regain his giant fish hook from the hand of Tamatoa (a giant coconut crab voiced by Jermaine Clement), he agrees to help. However, they should defeat Maui’s long archenemy Te Ka (a lava monster), in order to return Te Fiti’s heart.

8.9/10. Oh, don’t get me wrong. This movie is a Disney Princess Movie, and I love Disney Princesses (I even watched Frozen for almost ten times from the release). I love their idea of a curvy, brown skinned, black curly haired Disney Princess who finally fought for what she is meant to be. I love the story, the beautiful view, the entertaining humor (if it can make me laugh, then trust me, it’s funny and will make you laugh too) and also the whole adventure tense of this movie, and the smooth animation. I love how Moana’s hair flows with the wind, how her every emotion can be felt in her moves and big eyes, and how she teases Maui. I also fall in love with the arrangement of the soundtracks, though it seems a little bit unfulfilling like its predecessor Let It Go from Frozen (2013). Auli’I Cravalho is also a good singer. I almost instantly hate the other version of How Far I’ll Go sang by Alessia Cara at the credit title since I love Cravalho voice and her version.

However, if Auli’I Cravalho is successfully voiced Moana with her strong willing, Dwayne Johnson, on the other side, somehow feels not to blended so well with the whole movie. I don’t know. For me it just felt like he’s just put there to portray the well-built muscular demigod for his real body, not for the character. Maybe you can argue for female deliberation of being Chief of The Tribe, but that wasn’t a problem for me so I won’t talk about it. This movie is also talked about restoring the heart of Mother Nature, so this clear message should be your tools to educate them to keep the environment healthy and safe, in order not to make any more disastrous catastrophe on this earth. 

Please notice that this movie is PG or BO in Indonesian. The whole adventure is fun, but maybe the idea of Coconut Pirates, scavengers and lava monster could give nightmares to your child. So please advice them well and be wise in advising your children.

Leave a Reply

