Alice: Through The Looking Glass (2016)

Please accept my apologies. This movie has just released in Indonesia recently, so while maybe the whole world have watched it, I just watched it last Friday and due to my damn schedule, I just got the time to post my review now. The wikipedia is here. Thank you.

6.5/10. Alice is back again to Wonderland. This time, she has a looking glass as her portal, not just a rabbit hole as you always know. I actually have waited for this movie enthusiastically, thought that Tim Burton would give me back the thrills that his 2010 version brought me, but I was totally wrong. I didn’t refer to it’s awesomely built Wonderland, it is as awesome as its predecessor, but somehow I feel like this movie is draining my excitement. The Wonderland is stunning as always, but I feel the casts cannot live up to the classic character again. Mia Wasikowska looked too tired in portraying Alice Kingsleigh,  and Johnny Depp, after his scandalous marriage, felt dry in his Mad Hatter character. Anne Hathaway and Helena Bonham Carter are reprising their role as The White and Red Queen, and I did hope that their love and hate relationship will end up as sweet as Elsa and Anna in Frozen (2013) since Disney has the trend in bringing the family love in their movie, but I ended up disappointing. Their relationship gets better, indeed, but it doesn’t feel like that. It just feels dried, not touching, not convincing enough, just dried. I also almost got excitement again in seeing Sacha Baron Cohen as The Time, looking forward for his unique performance, which finally felt lack of his golden touch.

The only thing good beside the stunning Wonderland in this movie is the soundtrack. I don’t know. I always love P!nk, and her song is one of my reason why I want to watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

